Prevocational Framework Updates

Image Description

In 2023, PMAQ developed a three-phase approach to the implementation of the AMC’s revised National Framework for Prevocational (PGY1 and PGY2) Medical Training (NFPMT) in Queensland. The three phases describe minimum requirements for providers throughout the transition period.

Transition Phases 1 – 3 – An overview

Phase 2 of Queensland’s transition to implementing requirements of the framework commenced in January 2024. Training providers will be asked to provide assurance of their continued progress towards meeting the national standards and requirements while also maintaining their current compliance with standards through the submission of specific documentation.

PMAQ has adopted an increased focus on supporting prevocational training providers throughout the transition to meet the new requirements.

Continue checking the AMC website for important updates and other framework documents.


Useful documents


Phase 2 (January 2024 – mid 2024)

PGY2 term categorisation spreadsheet

PGY2 self assessment checklist


Phase 1 (2023)

PGY1 self assessment checklist

PGY1 term categorisation spreadsheet


Other useful documents

AMC Term description template WORD VERSION

Tip sheet – AMC Term description template

Tip sheet – Term orientation guide

PMAQ – Evidence – Naming of attachments & Submission

Tip sheet – Term orientation guide

Last modified: 18 March 2024